About     Contact     Careers     Advertise     Subscribe     Where to Buy

Follow

Meet Horror Author Johnny Compton of The Spite House!

07mar5:30 pm7:30 pmMeet Horror Author Johnny Compton of The Spite House!

Event Details

Horror author JOHNNY COMPTON is coming to Mobile! The Haunted Book Shop is thrilled to host Johnny Compton for an in-conversation and to sign his debut southern gothic paranormal novel “Spite House.” Publisher’s Weekly called this smash hit  “horror with heart.” Great for fans of Stephen Graham Jones, Rebecca Roanhorse, and Silvia Moreno-Garcia.


Here’s an excerpt from the review by our employee Kait: “Eric Ross and his two daughters are living out of motel rooms when Eric gets a job to stay at a spite house to try to capture any evidence of supernatural activity. The twist about why the family is on the run is epic! Eric is a bad dude for staying in that creepy house by himself to try to make a better life for himself and his girls!”


What’s In Store?


In-conversation:  We will have an in-conversation portion with Johnny Compton with questions from the audience


Book Signing: Johnny Compton will be signing copies of the paperback edition of his debut horror novel. Only books purchased from The Haunted Book Shop may be personalized by the author.


Specialty Cocktails: Next door at The Alchemy, enjoy a Johnny Compton-themed cocktail menu.


Ease Your Wait!

We’ll be using a timed-entry system for the book signing. So instead of tiring while you wait, you’ll have more time to explore and sip on those delicious cocktails!


Purchase of the book equals your ticket to the event.


About the Book

Eric Ross is on the run from a mysterious past with his two daughters in tow. Having left his wife, his house, his whole life behind in Maryland, he’s desperate for money—it’s not easy to find steady, safe work when you can’t provide references, you can’t stay in one place for long, and you’re paranoid that your past is creeping back up on you.


When he comes across the strange ad for the Masson House in Degener, Texas, Eric thinks they may have finally caught a lucky break. The Masson property, notorious for being one of the most haunted places in Texas, needs a caretaker of sorts. The owner is looking for proof of paranormal activity. All they need to do is stay in the house and keep a detailed record of everything that happens there. Provided the house’s horrors don’t drive them all mad, like the caretakers before them.


The job calls to Eric, not just because there’s a huge payout if they can make it through, but because he wants to explore the secrets of the spite house. If it is indeed haunted, maybe it’ll help him understand the uncanny power that clings to his family, driving them from town to town, making them afraid to stop running. A terrifying Gothic thriller about grief and death and the depths of a father’s love, Johnny Compton’s The Spite House is a stunning debut by a horror master in the making.


About the Author

The short stories of Johnny Compton (he/him) have appeared in Pseudopod, Strange Horizons, The No Sleep Podcast and many other markets. He is an HWA member and creator and host of the podcast Healthy Fears, which covers how our fears are explored through horror fiction. The Spite House is his first novel.


Tickets are limited. Purchase your book (and your ticket!) now to secure your spot in an evening of southern gothic goodness!


Looking forward to seeing you there!

more

Time

(Thursday) 5:30 pm - 7:30 pm(GMT-06:00)

JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST

Get the latest in fashion, food, art, homes, local history and upcoming events delivered right to your inbox.