Jocko Potts named winner of Mobile Chamber’s Alfred F. Delchamps Award

Mobile Bay Magazine's publisher celebrated for unwavering dedication to Mobile and the state of Alabama

Jocko Potts receiving the Alfred F. Delchamps award
Jocko Potts, center, with Mobile Chamber President and CEO Bradley Byrne and Mobile Chamber Chairman Melissa Cross.

T.J. “Jocko” Potts, president and CEO of PMT Publishing, which publishes Mobile Bay Magazine, was given the Alfred F. Delchamps Award by the Mobile Chamber at its annual meeting Thursday.

The award, established in 1990, is given to those who exemplify the spirit of Delchamps, a driving force behind Delchamps grocery stores.

In announcing the award, Mobile Chamber President and CEO Bradley Byrne noted Potts’ extensive publishing career, including the alternative newspaper The Azalea City News, Inside Alabama Politics, and, now, PMT publications Business Alabama magazine, Mobile Bay Magazine and Birmingham Home & Garden magazine. In addition, Byrne noted PMT’s events, including Inspiration Homes and this weekend’s EcoWild Outdoors Expo at the Mobile Convention Center.

“Through all his endeavors, one thing has remained constant – Jocko’s love for Mobile, the Gulf Coast and the state of Alabama,” Byrne said.

- Sponsors -

The Chamber gave out other awards on Thursday, including the inaugural Freida Maisel Award, given to a woman excelling in business. Maisel, who founded Gulf Distributing, was posthumously named the first winner of the award named for her, and her son, Elliot Maisel, accepted.

Past recipients of the Alfred F. Delchamps Award

The prestigious Alfred F. Delchamps Award is not awarded every year. Rather, it has been given to the following distinguished and hardworking Mobilians through the decades:

Bobby Guthans – 1991
Jack Edwards – 1998
William J. Hearin – 1999
Ann Bedsole – 2003
Robert J. Williams – 2004
Joseph N. Langan (posthumously) – 2005
Michael C. Dow – 2006
Dr. Stephen Dill – 2008
Ernest W. Todd Jr. – 2010
Abe and Arlene Mitchell – 2014
Michael B. Lee – 2015
T. Bestor Ward – 2019
James K. Lyon – 2021

Get the best of Mobile delivered to your inbox

Be the first to know about local events, home tours, restaurant reviews and more!